Firearm Licensing

License to Carry (LTC) and Firearm Identification Card (FID) applications are issued by appointment only. The procedure is as follows:

  1. Complete a Firearms / FID card application (PDF)
  2. Massachusetts approved Gun Safety Course Certificate (first time applicant only)
  3. Copy of Birth Certificate
  4. Naturalization Certificate (If you are a naturalized citizen)
  5. Proof of Address that you live in the City of Lawrence (Utility Bill, Mortgage Statement, etc.) Must have your name and address on the statement.
  6. Photo Identification
  7. $100 license fee payable by money order only

Firearms licenses and all applications are by appointment only.

License to Carry

  • Class A, Large Capacity, (handguns, rifles, shotguns, and pepper spray)
    A Class A covers all firearms but not machine guns.
  • Fee: $100 money order only

New Applicants

Class A licenses:

  • You must be age 21 years or older
  • You must be a U.S citizen, born or naturalized (birth certificate if U.S born; if naturalized, must produce original naturalization certificate along with birth certificate from country you were born in.) or a permanent, legal resident alien with a valid permanent resident alien card with birth certificate from country you were born in.
  • Proof of Lawrence residency

Firearms Identification Card

  • Non-large capacity rifles, shotguns and pepper spray only
  • Fee: $100
    Fees to apply are payable in cash or money order only (no personal checks or credit cards.)

New Applicants

  • You must be age 18 years or older. (15 years with “in-person” written permission from parent or legal guardian.)
  • You must be a U.S citizen, born or naturalized (birth certificate if U.S born; if naturalized, must produce original naturalization certificate along with birth certificate from country you were born in.) or a permanent, legal resident alien with a valid permanent resident alien card with birth certificate from country you were born in.
  • Proof of Lawrence residency

Disqualification

  • A felony conviction is an automatic lifetime disqualifier
  • Certain misdemeanor convictions can also be lifetime disqualifier

Chemical Sprays

No FID card is required for Chemical Sprays as of August 13, 2014. Just need to be 18 years or older

Class A

LTC Class A in addition to a clean criminal record, there is the issue of "suitability."

If you are requesting a Class A for employment / business-owner purposes, you will also need to submit a signed request by your employer on company letterhead and/or produce evidence of being a bona fide business owner (i.e. city / state licenses-permits in the business-owner's name.)

Class A and FID-Class C, require completion of a "Massachusetts-approved" Basic Firearms Safety Course.

Restricted FID (chemical spray) does not.

Apply

Once these basic steps are completed, please email Officer Scanlon or call 978-794-5900, ext. 584, clearly leave your name and telephone number to set up an appointment.

Renewals

Contact Officer Scanlon two to four months prior to date of expiration for renewal appointment.

It is suggested you pick up a firearms licensing flyer at the Lawrence Police Department for more information on firearms safety classes.