Greater Lawrence Sanitary District 

Two (2) member openings;

The Greater Lawrence Sanitary District consists of Three (3) members, with the City of Lawrence Director of Public Works charged ex-officio, and shall have full voting powers; Two (2) members of the district commission are appointed from the City of Lawrence shall be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the city council and serve Three (3) year terms.

The Greater Lawrence Sanitary District shall have the following responsibility;

The Greater Lawrence Sanitary District was established by Chapter 750 of the Massachusetts Acts of 1968 for the purpose of building, maintaining, and operating a system of sewage collection and disposal for the City of Lawrence, the towns of Methuen, Andover, and North Andover. The District facilities have been operational since April 1977. The Town of Salem, New Hampshire joined the Greater Lawrence Sanitary District through enabling legislation, Chapter 387 Acts of 1982 and written agreement.

A. The Lawrence Sanitary district shall have the following rights and authority with respect to the operations of a waste management plant following General Laws chapter 121 B section 26.

B. The Lawrence Sanitary District shall manage general overseeing of waste management plant functions.

C. The Lawrence Sanitary District, which may be composed of design, construction, engineering, and other professionals, district staff, or representative from one or more of the district's voting member communities shall vote on capital improvements as stated in General Law 121.

D. Commission consisting of seven members (three from the City of Lawrence, two from the City of Methuen, one each from the towns of Andover and North Andover), and an eighth non-voting member from Salem, New Hampshire oversee the District. The Executive Director who is appointed by the District Commission implements decisions made by the Commission


All members of boards, commissions, authorities, and committees of the city, whether appointed by the mayor or the city council, shall be residents of the city unless otherwise provided for in the General Laws or in the Municipal Code, with the exception that no more than three members of the airport commission may be nonresidents. Boards and Commissions Applications are available at the City of Lawrence, Office of the Mayor Daniel Rivera, 200 Common St. 3rd floor, Lawrence, MA 01840, or download an application at under the job posting/board openings page.

Deadline for applications is until selected and filled. Please send your application to the above said address. Said appointment is subject to the appointment of the Mayor Daniel Rivera and the confirmation of the Lawrence City Council.

The City of Lawrence is an Equal Opportunity Employer

Daniel Rivera, Mayor

Click here to visit GLSD Website.

Mr. Thomas Connors, Chairman

Mr. Joseph R. Quartarone

Mr. John Isensee

Raymond DiFiore

John A. Cronin

North Andover
William Gordon

Mr. Christopher Cronin

Salem NH
Mr. Michael Lyons


The last Wednesday of each month.