City Of Lawrence


Redevelopment Authority

The Lawrence Redevelopment Authority consists of Five (5) members. Four (4) members are appointed by the Mayor, and One member is appointed by the Commonwealth of MA. All Members shall be appointed to serve for initial terms of one, two, four, and five years, respectively.

The Lawrence Redevelopment Authority shall have the following responsibility;

A. Under General Laws chapter 121 B Section 5, as well as Section 7. A housing or redevelopment authority shall elect from among its members a chairman and a vice-chairman, and may employ counsel, an executive director who shall be ex officio secretary of the authority,

B. • Establish rehabilitation and design standards;

C. • Assemble and dispose of land, including the taking of real estate through eminent domain;

D. • Relocate businesses and residents occupying property in urban renewal areas;

E. • Demolish and/or rehabilitate substandard structures;

F. • Participate in real estate development and commercial revitalization;

G. • Issue bonds, borrow money, invest funds, and receive grants; and

H. • Accept gifts or requests.


All members of boards, commissions, authorities, and committees of the city, whether appointed by the mayor or the city council, shall be residents of the city unless otherwise provided for in the General Laws or in the Municipal Code, with the exception that no more than three members of the airport commission may be nonresidents. Boards and Commissions Applications are available at the City of Lawrence, Office of the Mayor Daniel Rivera, 200 Common St. 3rd floor, Lawrence, MA 01840, or download an application at under the job posting/board openings page.

Deadline for applications is until selected and filled. Please send your application to the above said address. Said appointment is subject to the appointment of the Mayor Daniel Rivera and the confirmation of the Lawrence City Council.

The City of Lawrence is an Equal Opportunity Employer

Daniel Rivera, Mayor

Kristen Harol (chairman)
(978) 828-7491

Evan Silverio
(978) 390-3320 (cell)

Michelle Melancon

Elias Rodriguez
(978) 857-6317

Jennelle Graziano

Anne-Marie Doherty  (
Administrative Asst.
(978) 620-3503

3rd Wednesday of the month

*****For the month of January 2015 the meeting will be 27th at 7:15pm